Lazy Dinner: Pancakes and Simple Fruit Syrup

Holla! So Mer posted the first entry, a delicious Parmesan Mushroom Puffs recipe. But she’s only one half of this adventure… and the other half is ME!

I was going to post the recipe for the delicious rice pudding I ate last night, but Merissa has all the photos on her camera. (Spoilers: it’s really hard to make rice pudding look as pretty as it tastes). But ah well. We’ll just have to wait for Merissa to upload the photos before posting that recipe.

I can hear you all sighing in disappointment.

I got lazy tonight and made pancakes. From the box. (I’m sorry, world). It was only after I started mixing up the batter that I realized I had no maple syrup… but never fear. In a truly dazzling display of brilliance, I proceeded to make this super cheap, dead simple and delicious fruit syrup that only uses three ingredients.

First, the ingredients:

That’s right. Only sugar, water and some frozen fruit. You can use real fruit, too, and it doesn’t matter which kind. The mix I have now has strawberries, peaches and pineapple.

I used about 1 1/2 cups of water and 1/2 c. of sugar. Usually, simple syrup calls for a one-to-one ratio of sugar to water, but I thought that my mixture was plenty sweet. I also wanted to account for the sweetness of the fruit.

I mixed the sugar and water together and added the fruit. I don’t think it really matters how much you use… I just shook some out of the bag. I think it was about a 3/4 of a cup. (If you read Our Story page, you’ll know I’m notorious for not measuring. I’m trying my best for you guys though. And don’t worry… this recipe is pretty much impossible to screw up.)

Boil the fruit-water-sugar mixture until it reduces by at least half. You can continue boiling it for longer if you want it to be thicker and sweeter. Give it a stir every once and a while to make sure none of the fruit are sticking to the bottom of the pot.

This is what it looked like while it was boiling.

I blended mine because the fruit start to go all mushy looking when you boil it. Plus I wanted it to be more syrupy and smooth. You can leave the fruit as little chunks if you prefer.

Then I made my pancakes, spread a little plain yoghurt on them, and drizzled them with the syrup. YUM!!

Merissa is the food photographer... I am not. :( Also my camera seems to turn things greenish...

For my second helping I left out the yoghurt and just drowned the pancakes with the remainder of the syrup. And it was DELICIOUS.

Super Simple Syrup Recipe

1 1/2 c. water

1/2 c. sugar or to taste

3/4 c. frozen fruit

Boil the ingredients on high, stirring occasionally, until mixture has reduced by half. For a thicker and sweeter mixture, reduce further. Blend mixture and pour on pancakes. Or ice cream!

Now, because I feel slightly guilty about only posting this dead simple recipe, here’s a round up of other syrup recipes from Foodgawker:

Buttermilk Pancakes with Apple Cinnamon Syrup from Penguin in the Kitchen

Coffee Shop Pumpkin Syrup from Savvy Eats

Strawberry Black Pepper Soda from Healthy Green Kitchen

Ginger Simple Syrup from Bless Her Heart

That’s it for now, I’ll be back soon with the rice pudding recipe!

One Comment (+add yours?)

  1. merulian
    Sep 23, 2011 @ 14:02:47

    D: I demand to try this magical syrup. I was wondering what that mason jar was doing on the dining room table this morning. nomnomnom.

    Reply

Say Something :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

